Dr. Virginia Torrie, Editor in Chief / Rédactrice en chef. Virginia holds JD and LLM degrees from Osgoode Hall Law School and a PhD from the University of Kent. She is a nationally recognized expert and thought leader on bankruptcy and insolvency matters. Virginia has served as Editor-in-Chief since 2018, and prior to that served as Book Review Editor since 2009.

Dr. Benjamin Geva, Founding Editor in Chief / Rédacteur en chef fondateur. Benjamin holds an LLB from the Hebrew University of Jerusalem and LLM and SJD degrees from Harvard University. He is a leading international legal expert on payment instruments, bank deposits and collections, credit transactions and electronic banking. Benjamin founded the BFLR in 1986 and served as Editor-in-Chief until 2018. He is a Professor at Osgoode Hall Law School and Counsel at Torys LLP.

Dr. Ryan Clements, Managing General Editor / Directeur Général de la rédaction. Ryan holds BA (Hons.) and LLB (Distinction) degrees from the University of Alberta and LLM and SJD degrees from Duke University Law School.  He is an Assistant Professor, Chair in Business Law and Regulation at the University of Calgary Faculty of Law.  Ryan joined the BFLR as Managing General Editor and Special Fintech Issue Co-Editor in 2021.

Dr. Mark Hsiao, Recent Developments Editor / Éditeur aux événements récents. Mark holds LLM and PhD degrees from University of London and is an Associate Professor at the City University of Hong Kong. He specializes in banking and financial law, particularly in the regulations of financial derivatives. Mark joined the BFLR as Recent Developments Editor in June 2021.

Dr. Casey Watters, Case Notes and Comment Editor / Rédacteur de notes de cas et de commentaires. Casey holds a JD from the University of California Hastings College of Law and a PhD from Shanghai Jiaotong University. He is an Assistant Professor at Bond University Faculty of Law. Casey joined the BFLR as Case Notes and Comment Editor in September 2020.

Mr. Myles Davis, Book Review Editor / Chronique Bibliographique. Myles holds JD and LLM degrees from the University of Manitoba and is an Associate at WRMG Law in Winnipeg, Manitoba. He has served as the Book Review Editor of the BFLR since January 2019.

Ashley Bains, Senior Assistant Editor. Winnipeg, Manitoba
Robert Johnstone, Assistant Editor. Winnipeg, Manitoba
Derek Novosel, Assistant Editor. Winnipeg, Manitoba
Kayla Ellison, Assistant Editor. Calgary, Alberta
Kerith Tung, Assistant Editor. Winnipeg, Manitoba
Rebecca Penner, Assistant Editor. Winnipeg, Manitoba
Connor Jonsson, Social Media Ambassador. Winnipeg, Manitoba
Booker Zhang, Website Developer and Assistant Editor. Winnipeg, Manitoba


Professor Benjamin Geva, Honourary Chair, Osgoode Hall Law School of York University Counsel, Torys LLP, Toronto, Ontario
Ms. Nathalie Clark, EVP, General Counsel & Corporate Secretary, Aurora Cannabis Inc., Toronto, Ontario
Dr. François R. Malan, Justice of the Supreme Court of Appeal, South Africa
Honourable Mr. Justice William Blair, Queen’s Bench Division of the HighCourt, London, UK
Professor Emeritus Peter Ellinger, National University of Singapore Faculty of Law, Singapore


Mr. Blair W. Keefe, Torys LLP, Toronto, Ontario
Professor Marc Lacoursière, Faculté de droit, Université Laval, Québec, Québec
Brigitte M. Gauthier, Partner, Lavery, de Billy, L.L.P., Montréal, Québec
Ms. Margaret Grottenthaler, Stikeman Elliott LLP, Toronto, Ontario
Mr. Robert M. Scavone, McMillan LLP, Toronto, Ontario
Professor Stephanie Ben-Ishai, Osgoode Hall Law School of York University, Toronto, Ontario
Harvey M. Garman, Partner, Business Law, KPMG Law LLP, Toronto, Ontario
David A. Reid, Partner, Cox & Palmer, Halifax, Nova Scotia
H. Lance Williams, Partner, DLA Piper (Canada) LLP, Vancouver, British Columbia
Dr. Ryan Clements, University of Calgary Faculty of Law, Calgary, Alberta
Mohamed Khimji, Queen’s University Faculty of Law, Kingston, Ontario
Associate Professor Muharem Kianieff, University of Windsor Faculty of Law, Windsor, Ontario
Professor Stéphane Rousseau, Université de Montréal Faculté de Droit, Montréal, Québec
Michael Garellek, Gowling WLG (Canada) LLP, Montréal, Québec


Distinguished Professor Emeritus John F. Dolan, Wayne State University Law School, Detroit, Michigan, USA
Associate Professor Sandra Booysen, National University of Singapore Faculty of Law, Singapore
Professor Joseph J. Norton, Dedman Law School, Southern Methodist University, Dallas, Texas, USA
Professor Avv. Onofrio Troiano, Facoltà di Giurisprudenza, Università degli Studi di Foggia, Foggia, Italy
Professor Richard Hooley, Faculty of Law, University of Cambridge, Cambridge, UK
Professor Sarel F. du Toit, Department of Mercantile Law, Faculty of Law, University of Johannesburg, Johannesburg, South Africa
Professor Dr. Peter O. Mülbert, Johannes-Gutenberg University, Germany
Dr. Alan L. Tyree, Katoomba, New South Wales, Australia
Dr. Guanghua Yu, Hong Kong University, Faculty of Law, Hong Kong, China
Prof. Dr. Georges Affaki, Avocat à la Cour, Paris, France
Dr. Christian Chamorro-Courtland, The University of Sydney, Business School, Sydney, Australia
Dr. Ligia Catherine Arias-Barrera, Associate Professor, School of Law, Externado de Colombia University, Colombia
Professor Ruth Plato-Shinar, Netanya Academic College Faculty of Law, Israel
Professor Kelvin Low, National University of Singapore Faculty of Law, Singapore
Aurelio Gurrea Martinez, Singapore Management University, Yong Pung How School of Law